Home > Active Directory, Microsoft, System Center > How to remove System Center Essentials 2007 remnants from Active Directory

How to remove System Center Essentials 2007 remnants from Active Directory

So I had to reinstall System Center Essentials 2007 today. I prepared a clean machine. Since I haven’t tested Windows Server 2008 and System Center Essentials 2007 with SP1 together, I decided go with Windows Server 2003 R2 with SP2. I installed the operating system, joined with the domain and installed the IIS 6. Also installed all the needed updates, service packs and .net frameworks needed by System Center Essentials 2007 SP1. Then came the SQL Server 2005 with Reporting Services. Now I was finally ready for the SCE 2007 SP1 again. But when I started the setup I got this error:

An error Essentials is already installed in this domain.

I started to search around the Internet and found some information what i thought might help me. I used the following steps to clear my domain from SCE 2007:

1. On the Domain Controller run the ADSI Edit (Start -> Run -> Adsiedit.msc. If you don’t have it installed check this post.

2. Right click on the “Domain” tree and select New – Query.

3. In the New Query window, enter the following:

Name: SCESCP Query

Root of Search:

Query String: (&(objectCategory=serviceConnectionPoint)(cn=SCESCP))

4. Click on OK.

5. Expand the Domain node in ADSI Edit and select the “SCESCP Query” node.

6. A “CN=SCESCP” object should be listed in the right-hand pane, with a distinguished name of “CN=SCESCP,CN=,CN=,DC=,DC=com”. This tells us which computer account has the SCESCP.

7. Delete both “CN=SCESCP” and “CN=SDKServiceSCP“, then close ADSI Edit.

Now it was possible to install SCE 2007 with SP1 as there was no obstacles in Active Directory.

-Eric

  1. December 18, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any recommendations for novice blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    • July 8, 2013 at 9:38 pm

      when i started i thought about what to write. and well as a system engineer usually theres a lot of stuff u have to repeat so i decided to write them down. Sometimes your memory is not good enough and a blog to return to was a good place to as a reference.

  2. June 5, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your site. You have some really good articles and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely
    love to write some material for your blog in exchange
    for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an e-mail if interested.
    Many thanks!

    • July 8, 2013 at 9:35 pm

      No thanks, i can manage, tho saying that i havent updated my blog for a bit. But i do have plans to start doing it again.

  3. July 19, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    I am now not sure where you’re getting your info, however great topic. I must spend some time studying much more or working out more. Thanks for magnificent info I used to be looking for this information for my mission.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

