Home > Microsoft, SQL, Windows > How to add MS SQL Server Management Studio (if you forgot to install it in the first time)

How to add MS SQL Server Management Studio (if you forgot to install it in the first time)

The other day I had to install a brand new SQL Server for our production servers. So I decided to use Windows Server 2008 this time and prepared the machine. I installed the OS, updates and needed components, basically everything you need to prep the server for SQL Server. When I was done with that, I started the MS SQL Server setup. As I’ve done this hundreds of times it was next next next sort of thing for me. So after I was done telling the setup how to install my SQL Server I pressed install. Everything went down smoothly and the only thing I was told to do in the end was to install SP2, which I did. Then I decided it was time to fire up the SQL Server Management Studio and blimey was I surprised when I discovered that it was not there. Oh well, time to fire up good old MS SQL Server setup again I thought. I clicked next next etc until I got the selection where I knew I could select Management Studio from under Client Components I selected the Management Studio and I was good to go. I clicked next and nothing happened, I just got an error telling me that there was nothing new to be installed?? So I started digging around again and I found several blogs/technet forum posts about the similar issue but those solutions where a bit complicated (detailed explanations how to extract and install Management Studio?). As I was browsing the forums some guy mentioned something about going to Control Panel -> Programs and Features (Add/Remove Programs in Win 2003/XP) and running uninstall/change option from there. I decided to give it a try and it worked. I managed to install MS SQL Server Management Studio. Here are the steps:

1. Go to Control Panel -> Programs and Features (Add/Remove Programs in Win 2003/XP).
2. Find SQL Server 2005 and press change. Then this window pops up.

From there under SQL Server 2005 Common components select Workstation Components and hit next.
3. Now MS SQL Server Setup starts and you will get a choice – Change Installed Components or remove SQL Server completely.

Click on Change Installed Components and you will be able to select Management Tools from under Client Components.

Then click next two times and the setup will install Management Tools for you.

What I’m wondering is, what’s up with all the hassle? Why can’t I just install it straight from the cd/setup file ?

-Eric

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

